Tell Me Your Story

For some time now, I’ve been wondering where God is. Objectively speaking, I know, but like I said about prayer–I believe God is there, but it hasn’t really felt like he is.

At Bible study recently, several women shared how God has been at work in their lives and in the lives of people around them. And I sat there thinking how glad I was. That God is at work in visible ways even if it’s not obvious in my own life right now, that these women are noticing where God is, and that they were willing to share their stories with us.

Photo Credit: Flickr User Pauline Mak, Creative Commons

Photo Credit: Flickr User Pauline Mak, Creative Commons

And this is why we need people, why we need community, why we need Church–so that others can show us faith when we have misplaced our own.

We need to tell these stories to remind ourselves and each other of the ways God shows up, even in the darkest of moments. We can’t always see those moments when we’re in the messy middle of one of our own stories, but maybe someone else can share the light they have seen. No two people will ever encounter the exact same circumstances, but they may have commonalities. There is power in the words “Me too.”

Of course, there are no guarantees that our own stories will get the same light that someone else’s did. But we may get glimmers, or light of a different kind entirely. Or maybe, for a very long time at all, no light at all. And that is when we so, so need people who will hold onto the hope when our hands cannot, and who will tell us their stories, with all of their wild goodness and pain and beauty.

The world needs your story. I need your story.

Stories are what carry us through and remind us of things beyond our own circumstances. They point us back to the God who is, the God who sees us even when we do not see him. Stories matter.

Will you tell me yours?

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

2 thoughts on “Tell Me Your Story

  1. You are so right, we need each other and we need to tell our stories!
    Without bright lights or angelic choirs God showed up in a mighty way for me recently — giving me a peace that surpasses all understanding through a mighty storm in my life and the lives of those I love. I may have dismissed this kind of God encounter in the past but this time His presence was undeniable. Peace. Provision. Protection. All things that I take for granted on a daily basis but in the middle of chaos and uncertainty — God was there.
    God is faithful even when we are not.
    Thanks for sharing Brianna!

  2. Your honesty is both refreshing and relatable; I’m very thankful for your blog!

    At the risk of being self-promotive, I do think we’re very similar, and my blog is where I share my story. If you want to hear it, or rather read it, the link is therealsamcam.wordpress.com.

    Thank you again for being so transparent as you grow. Your story is valued and loved, as are you.

    -Sam

Leave a Reply

