When Identity in Christ Isn’t Good Enough

“Find your identity in Christ” is a phrase Christians like to use. It can get tossed around as though it’s an absolute answer to any sort of question about who I am, what I should be doing, how I should live in the messy bits of everyday experience.

It’s not an untrue phrase-it IS important for Christians to have their identity rooted in Christ.

But I really don’t think that’s all there is to it.

A few weeks ago I was at a Christian leadership conference, and one of the speakers talked about identity—specifically, he talked about the gap between being seated in the heavenlies and how to live that out. He talked about the completion process of an identity being a journey, an experience.

And I breathed a sigh of relief.

Finding your identity in Christ should be the starting point, but it’s not the end of an identity. My identity is not something I necessarily have to know in full right now, or possibly even have in full right now. It’s in process. Becoming.

“Finding your identity in Christ” is a good heart and head phrase, but it’s not very much of a hands phrase. How the particulars of being in Christ play themselves out in all the other pieces of who Brianna is are still being worked out. There are pieces I’m fairly certain of, tendencies and talents that have become quite apparent already, but I am fully aware of how few years I have lived and how much life there likely is before me. Some of those tendencies and talents will continue to show through, grow and develop, while others may fade or new ones come forward. And all of them, in ways, become part of my identity, at least for a time.

I hope and pray that through it all my identity remains grounded in Christ. But that’s a beginning, not an end. It’s a reminder of where every piece of who I am and what I do must begin, and is the common vein that runs through all of it–but it doesn’t solve the question of identity once and for all.

The only way to find the answer of who I am is to live it.

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

p.s. What does finding your identity look like for you?

3 thoughts on “When Identity in Christ Isn’t Good Enough

  1. I agree with what you’re saying here, and I think it’s important that God values the particulars of our identities (down to the number of hairs on our heads). Some of that is personalities and gifts but also experiences and choices. I can think of many times in my experience I felt God pointing me to particular relationships, communities and roles (and not others) because of what I am like, what I know, and what I can do. Sounds like you’re onto that too, and also the ways those things change as we grow and gain new experiences.

    1. Yes, I absolutely think God uses our identity to point us toward particular things. It makes sense, considering ultimately he knows us better than we’ll ever know ourselves. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

