Paper and Possibility

After browsing 4 different stores, I finally purchased a new journal.

She’s a dreamer, a doer, a thinker. She sees possibility everywhere.

My specifications, though not precise, are many:

  • Lines must not be spaced too far apart, or too close together. Too far apart and I feel like I’m a kindergartner, too close together and I can hardly see what I’m writing.
  • Cover should be pleasing, but not overly distracting or gaudy. I’m not opposed to decorating it myself, if I have time and an idea for a suitable look.
  • Notebook must have enough pages to make it worth my while, but not so many that I feel like I’ll be writing in it for ages. Admittedly, my most recent addition to my line-up has fewer pages than most, but its other qualifications deemed it worthy enough.
  • Paper must not be too thin nor too thick, and appealing to the touch. I often prefer recycled paper, because I can feel good about it being made from recycled materials and it usually meets my requirements.
  • Price must be in a reasonable range. Said range may vary depending on how much I like it.

Picky? Possibly.

But there’s something about a brand new journal. The cover of mine reads, “She’s a dreamer, a doer, a thinker. She sees possibility everywhere.”

Possibility. That’s what gets me. So many blank pages, anticipating, waiting, made for words to come and fill them. Endless possibility. As I flip through pages already filled, I find themes of uncertainty, hope, hurt, redemption, change, and more, filling the pages–weaved through the stories of where I’ve been and what I’ve done and who I’ve talked to. And this journal, this lucky little thing with its turquoise-y hued cover and slightly-cheesy cover, will become a recorder of those possibilities and stories.

It’s more that possibility though. I find the act of putting pen (or pencil, as I sometimes prefer) to paper to be an important one. Words appearing on a computer screen don’t bring me nearly the sense of satisfaction as ones on paper. On a screen, they seem much more temporary–with a few swift movements, an entire page can be gone, as though it never existed. Sentences and paragraphs can easily be moved around, a comma added here, a few words removed there. Temporary. Shifty.

But on paper? I must think more carefully as I write; the words are there to stay if they’re in pen, and even in pencil, even the best of erasers may not be able to completely take away the marks. Writing on paper makes me slow down, think, consider. And that’s why I love it.

 

Possibility. Permanence. Paper.

 

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

p.s. Do you prefer writing on a computer or paper? Why?

4 thoughts on “Paper and Possibility

  1. There’s definitely perks to both. I like using a computer because it makes it a whole lot easier to rearrange sentences/paragraphs, but I think I prefer writing things out on paper because I really quite enjoy seeing my handwriting, haha. 🙂

    1. Good point–they both have their merits. There’s no way I’d attempt to write anything too lengthy on paper, but I do love a good piece of paper and pen. =) Thanks for reading!

  2. I actually prefer writing on a computer for two reasons, one of which is the exact opposite reason you prefer paper. It *isn’t* permanent. Permanence scares me. It cannot be undone. When I type, it can be tweaked and retweaked to my little heart’s content. Mistakes are erased and corrected. Thoughts are clarified and reworded until I have achieved perfection.
    Honestly though, I think this actually hinders my writing, as I sometimes find myself trapped in that pit of perfection. How can I move on to the next sentence when this one can still be made better…better…perfect? Perhaps that is why it takes me such a long time to write a new blog post…or write a comment on a blog post. (Yeah, I think this one took me around 10 minutes. Yikes.)

    My second reason is that I type a thousand times faster than I write, so it is sometimes easier for my keyboard to keep up with my thoughts than it would be for my pen. When I am in one of those moments where I absolutely *need* to get my thoughts out of my head, I dive for my computer so I don’t lose them. This “stream-of-conscious” writing is cathartic for those moments when my thoughts perhaps become a little too much to process internally, but not something I want to process externally with another person quite yet (huzzah for introverts!).

    But, none of this is to say that I don’t love putting pen to paper, either. 🙂

    1. Totally agree about the “When I am in one of those moments where I absolutely *need* to get my thoughts out of my head” bit…there are times when my pen just wouldn’t be able to move fast enough! Good thing we don’t have to pick just one. =)

Leave a Reply

