Checkpoint: A Third of the Way There

On October 1, I decided to take on the challenge of participating in The 31 Amazing Days Challenge by posting each day for this entire month.

This is post number 10, so I’m a third of the way there. Already I’m learning a few things, feeling good about some things, and failing at a handful as well. Sounds like my life in general. (Or anyone’s life, for that matter)

  • Writing is born from observation. The more I write, the more observant I need to be–of little things throughout my day, and big things in life as a whole.
  • When I started, I told myself I wouldn’t post purely out of an emotional reaction. Whoops. Exhibits  and B of my failures at this one.
  • Good writing often takes time. I have several posts percolating in my brain and on my computer I want to get just right, and they aren’t there yet. In the meantime, I’ve posted ones that maybe aren’t works of art, but they felt right for the time. So up they went.
  • I am continually being reminded that words have power, and with power comes responsibility. To choose my words carefully. To speak truth but not brutally. To be authentic. To share enough but never things that might hurt those around me. To remember these words go places and say things about me I may never know.
  • As a Christian writing these words, these words take on eternal consequences. Which is awesome, and appropriately terrifying.
  • Declaring 31 Days of Amazing doesn’t guard against not-so-amazing occurrences. However, it can (and has already begun to) force me to look at those in a different way, and will continue to force me to look differently at what’s to come.
  • I’m not done. When it comes to writing, when it comes to figuring out what I’m doing with my life, when it comes to living the way God wants me to, when it comes to any piece of my life. But I don’t think we’re ever totally done in this lifetime, and that is okay.

 

Here’s to the rest of 31 Amazing Days.

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

 

p.s. Thanks for hanging out with me. If you don’t want to miss a post, you can enter your email address in the “Subscribe” box on the right side of the page.

2 thoughts on “Checkpoint: A Third of the Way There

  1. I think you’re doing a good job so far, I was wondering why you were posting every day. I thought that you must be getting burnt out. I don’t think it’s good for a writer to try to produce something publishable everyday, I just don’t agree with that kind of process. But I guess like you said, these don’t all have to be works of art.

    1. Getting burnt out was one of the reasons I was hesitant to take this on, and I’d be lying if I said I’m not feeling it a little bit already. My greater purpose in doing this though is to force myself to be more aware, to take notice of the things in each day that make it amazing.

Leave a Reply

