The Sun Will Rise

As I drive to work, some days it feels like I’m driving directly into the sun. Even with my sunglasses on and visor down, it seems I can’t escape its rays. Particularly on mornings when I haven’t had the time to properly clear the dew or frost off my windshield, this can nearly become hazardous. Besides an occasional notice of the way the sun lights up the already-colorful fall leaves, these are about the only thoughts I have regarding the sun in a regular week.

But would I notice if it suddenly wasn’t there? Yes.

My pastor paraphrased Jeremiah 31:37 this morning as follows:

“If the sun doesn’t come up tomorrow morning, I give you permission to believe that I can’t be trusted. But as long as the sun sets every evening and comes up every morning, you know that I’m faithful, you know that I’m reliable and that you can depend on me.”

The New International Version states it like this:

This is what the Lord says:

“Only if the heavens above can be measured
and the foundations of the earth below be searched out
will I reject all the descendants of Israel
because of all they have done,”
declares the Lord.

Every day of my life so far, the sun has risen. Tomorrow it will rise, and every day for the rest of this week, month, and the rest of my existence.

If I have such faith in the orbit of a ball of flaming gas, why is it often so easy to doubt that God will do what he says he will?

Yes, that particular verse in Jeremiah is directed towards the Israelites; still, lists of God’s promises would go on for pages. Promises that he loves me, that he has a plan, that he is working for my good, that he can be trusted, that he is there.

His promises last.

Even when I don’t live like it.

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

p.s. Thoughts for today’s post came from my pastor’s sermon today, entitled Gracefully Designed-Astronomy, which you can listen to here. Thoughts, questions, salutations? Leave a comment.

3 thoughts on “The Sun Will Rise

  1. That’s a great point. God has shown Himself to be faithful, we have His promise in Genesis 8:22 “While the earth remains, Seedtime and harvest, Cold and heat, Winter and summer, And day and night Shall not cease.”

    And here’s something to think about regarding the Atheism that is pervading our culture today. What reason is there on an Atheistic worldview to expect regularity in nature? Why should the sun rise everyday. Why shouldn’t it just disappear, or suddenly move out of our solar system? Why don’t we go outside and find that our car has turned into a mushroom? The Atheist worldview cannot account for the uniformity of nature, but the Christian worldview can – we have a God who is in control of nature and causes it to function regularly.

Leave a Reply

