Posts from the Past: Pie, and October 2006

My musings about pie, from my Xanga

Ah, 16-year-old me waxing philosophical about a piece of pie. It seems especially fitting, seeing as my lovely mother recently baked me that same kind of pie and I’ve been eating my way through it this past week. Only a piece a day, though it has been tempting to eat more. And though this time I have a whole pie, all to myself, courtesy of a Christmas present, it doesn’t change that the pie will soon be gone.

Though my appreciation for delicious pie has not changed in the 6 years since I wrote that post, a few other things have. Instead of wishing to slow time down, as I seem to have wanted to do back then, if anything I’d probably want to speed time up right now. This land of in-between I’m in, of living with my parents and not having a full-time job and being single but not really wanting to be and not knowing what I’ll be doing several months from now and often feeling like I’m standing still while my friends’ lives go speeding ahead…it seems like something to get through more than enjoy.

The reality is, life doesn’t start when I reach a certain checkpoint, be it moving out or getting a boyfriend or landing a job.

Life is, not will be.

I can choose to put my head down, power through this land of in-between and only begin to take notice again when I determine I have reached the mysterious land beyond this one, or I can slow down, look around, and learn to appreciate the goodness that persists here. Even amidst the uncertainty.

Good thoughts, former me.

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

p.s. I’ve use pie as an illustration in a previous post. Clearly, I like pie. As usual, feel free to share thoughts, questions, salutations, etc. in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Posts from the Past: Pie, and October 2006

  1. Now you can spend your free time educating yourself as much as possible. You can read Christian books now probably more than most other times in your life, because you have the free time. 😉

  2. Dear Brianna!
    I came across this passage in my Bible reading today and immediately thought of you: “… humble yourselves under the mighty power of God, and at the right time he will lift you up in honor. Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares for you. … remember that your Christian brothers and sisters all over the world are going through the same kind of suffering you are… My purpose in writing you is to encourage and assure you that what you are experiencing is truly part of God’s grace for you. Stand firm in this grace.” 1 Peter 6-12

    Every one of your posts have been such a blessing to me since I subscribed to your blog after you article RELEVANT featured. I have even shared them with my friends and my brother — so thank you for planting amazing seeds with your heartfelt words and honesty.

    Know that you’re not alone in your present circumstances. I am in the same boat, except I’m 27 and not 22. It is my prayer that girls like us, guys like us, people like us all over the world would hold onto the hope and the promises of those verses. And as always I look forward to reading more of your work.

    Love and prayers.

    -Amy, a small town girl with big dreams and a big heart for good writing, good music and God

    1. Amy, I cannot thank you enough for your kind words and for sharing that passage. I love this verse: “My purpose in writing you is to encourage and assure you that what you are experiencing is truly part of God’s grace for you. Stand firm in this grace.”

      It is so good to know we are not alone, and in whatever way I have done that for you, know that you are doing the same for me. Thanks again for taking the time to share that passage and your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

