A Dash of Whimsy

I have a confession to make, to you,  the people of blogland.

Hello, my name is Brianna, I’m 21 years old, and I want to be Ella.

From the young adult fiction book Ella Enchanted, by Gail Carson Levine. (There’s also a movie of the same title, which I have refused to see on principle.)

At its core it is a retelling of the Cinderella story, but unlike so many Cinderellas, Ella is not a wamby-pamby girl sitting around waiting to be saved from a life of drudgery. This Cinderella is fiesty. She has spice, wit, and fire. I have fleeting moments where I might have one of those things, but I wouldn’t mind a touch more of each.

More than personality though, I want to be Ella because of the world she lives in. Throughout the story she encounters ogres, giants, and fairies. She is given a centaur and has a conversation with a gnome. She eats a meal with elves. She gets to travel all sorts of places and meet all types of fantastical creatures.

And sometimes, in my life of green Malibus and frozen pizza and heavy backpacks, I could go for a conversation with a gnome. Perhaps a ride on a centaur. Or an encounter with a fairy that gets me a beautiful dress, even if just for a few hours. Because I’m feeling a bit restless, and I could go for something out-of-the-ordinary, hard to believe, fantastical. Breathtaking. Magical.

A dash of whimsy, if you will.

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

p.s. Spoiler alert: Ella, as Cinderellas are apt to do, ends up with the Prince. I wouldn’t mind one of those either, but I’ll start with some whimsy.

Leave a Reply

