Not Like the Movies

Wouldn’t it be nice, sometimes, if life were like a movie?

The script all laid out in advance, words and actions spelled out by people who know what they’re doing.You receive the script and learn your lines. Act your part, all the while knowing what the next scene holds, when the pauses in action will occur, how all the plot lines will get wrapped up nicely in 117 minutes, no more, no less.

Real life isn’t much like that at all though. In a sense there’s a script for how my life will play out, but it’s not in my own hands–it’s in God’s. A good thing, seeing as he’s got it together and I don’t, but frustrating too. Just a glimpse ahead to the next scene would be nice.

I suppose this is another instance of needing to take my own advice to be ok with the uncertainty.

But right now, I don’t really want to be ok with it. It all feels a bit too precarious, for the thin ice I stand on is far too likely to break for me to be able to relax and just live in it. So for today, maybe I’ll just be ok with not being ok with uncertainty. For today, I will wish that life was a little more like a movie, that I could sit and pore over the scrip to find out what will happen from here. And be ok in that.

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

Leave a Reply

