Embracing the Mess

Life is a mess.

Lately I’ve been realizing how little anyone REALLY knows what they’re doing in life. We all just kind of bumble around, doing our best, but never really knowing what’s going on. Sure, we like to think that we know what we’re doing, and even more so we like for other people to think we know what we’re doing.

But we have

no.

flipping.

clue.

What’s going on.

And beware of anyone who says they do.

But I’ve been learning to enjoy it. Typically I like things to be in some sort of order (despite what my parents will point out about the state of my room at home). I like to know what’s going on when, how I’m getting there, who I’m going with, etc and so forth. Life is rarely so cut and dried though, especially right now. As much as I’d like to know what’s going to happen in the future, and even be clued in as to what’s really going on right now, I do not and will not have that information.

There’s a terrifying beauty in it though. As Jack’s Mannequin sings, “We are just these people happy, tangled lives…We are just these people, such tragic little things.” If we let ourselves enjoy it, there’s enjoyment to be found in the mess. If no one knows what they’re doing, (and I fully maintain we don’t, some people are just better at acting like they know what’s going on) then why should we care if someone says, “You’re doing that wrong.”

Yup, we very well might be. But that’s part of being human. We mess up, fall on our faces, slam our fingers in doors…and move on. There is nothing neat about living, so we might as well learn to embrace it. Recognize that no one else really knows what’s going on either, laugh at the absurdity of it…and keep on truckin’.

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

Leave a Reply

