How Do I Love Thee?

We tend to throw the word love around in a lot of ways. Some things deserved to be loved–God, my family and friends. Other things, though we may feel affection towards them, maybe don’t deserve the level of love. I might intensely like ice cream, but to say that I love it sort of cheapens the word. My passion for ice cream does not, I sincerely hope, rival that of my passion for God.

Yet we use the same word in so many different ways.

There’s more to it than just a word though. How do we actually LOVE? As in the verb form? It’s not just something we talk about, it’s something we’re supposed to actively DO. People experience love in different ways though. An act that makes me feel loved might not mean the same thing to someone else. Unless someone hands you a manual on, “How To Love Me,” it’s sometimes hard to know.

What then are we to do? I guess we could throw in the towel and be jerks all the time, but that’s not a very sensible solution at all. There’s a fairly well-known book called “The 5 Love Languages.” Maybe we could all just write down our top 1 or 2 and hand them out as business cards when we start becoming friends with someone.

Or, ya know, maybe not. It seems a bit too personal to just run around telling people, “This is how to love me!” But when you’re around people that you want to show love to, it can be a bit of a guessing game as to how they’ll accept things.

When it comes to love, maybe it’s better to not take chances. If I don’t know how someone feels love, maybe I should just love them in all the ways I can think of. Love until I can’t love anymore. As Mother Teresa pointed out though, that’s not really possible.

“I have found the paradox, that if you love until it hurts, there can be no more hurt, only more love.”

Wise lady, that Mother Teresa.

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

Leave a Reply

