That Which I Cannot Do

In general, I’m a fairly capable person. If I don’t know how to do something that’s fairly important. I’ll probably try to figure it out, or find someone who knows what’s going on. Google is great for this type of thing…it explains a lot of things that I don’t know how to do, or answers questions that I don’t feel like bothering a live human being with.

As with all things though, Google is limited in its knowledge. It can’t tell me what I’ll have for breakfast tomorrow, or where I put that earring that’s gone missing, or explain to me how I can go about becoming ridiculously famous. (not that that’s something I necessarily aspire to do)

What it comes down to is this…

There are a lot of things I can’t do.

Currently, the most exasperating thing that I cannot do is see what lies ahead. As I’ve done many times before, I stand at the precipice of a new school year, yet this one I approach with the most apprehension I have in…well, a while. There are a multitude of reasons for this, none too profound, yet still they pile up.

Not knowing what lies ahead has become a recurring theme for me. Everyone is plagued by it at times, yet now it seems to be pressing more heavily upon me than it has for a while. Excitement is woven in with worry, doubt, wondering, anticipation, and happiness. It’s an odd mix.

But really, there’s much I cannot do. I won’t know what will happen. I can’t change it once it has. I can’t fix all the problems.

However, there are things I can do. I can pray, trust, and hope…and know that I’ll be ok, or at least some definition of it.

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

Leave a Reply

