Sky’s Still Blue

A few days have gone by since I’ve posted on here. Sure, I’ve been busy, but it’s more than that. I thought about posting, even started some posts, (some in my head and at least one in actual blog form) only to discard them. Something about them didn’t feel right. For whatever reason, I knew that what I was writing wasn’t coming out of the right place. They were tinged with emotion, laced with underlying fragments of venom, snark, and frustration. Maybe you wouldn’t have even noticed, but I would’ve known it was there.

So I waited. Waited some more, like I seem to be doing a lot of lately.

And, in my waiting, I have been reminded yet again of many things. Of love, both human and divine, of the power of music, of happiness in surprising places. That light shines through clouds.

Andrew Belle is one of my favorite musicians. His song “Sky’s Still Blue” is one of my favorites of his, although it’s not currently available on any of his CDs. (Sad day.) Still, I found the lyrics with the help of Google, and offer them to you.

Sky’s Still Blue by Andrew Belle

Your heart is a city
Your eyes are a fixture
The mind tells a story
With ten thousand pictures
We stumble upon it
Fell through the ceiling tiles

We drew up a landscape
We climbed down a ladder
Carved out a memory
To follow the pattern
And now on a clear glass wall
I can see my faith
You know it’s never too late

Oh, if you’re hearing this
I must have made it through
Oh, when the clouds are burned
Open up my window
I see the sky’s still blue

A vision is a portrait
A palate of colors
We swim in an ocean
With blindfolded lovers
And now that I’ve found my side
Oh, I finally realize that it was there the whole time

Oh, if you’re hearing this
I must have made it through
Oh, when the clouds are burned
Open up my window
I see the sky’s still blue

I see that the sky is still blue

Oh, if you’re hearing this
I must have made it through
Oh, when the clouds are burned
Open up my window
I see the sky’s still blue

Oh, if you’re hearing this
I must have made it through
Oh, if you’re hearing this
I see the sky’s still blue

And, since lyrics are only so good, here’s the video as well.

Lovely reminder.

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

p.s. Just an aside as to how these posts frequently end up very differently than I think they’re going to. I had no intention of writing about that song, but on this semi-cloudy day, I needed it.

Leave a Reply

