Borrowed Words

Collecting quotes has been an interest of mine for…oh, a while. There’s something about finding a well-worded sentence or phrase that seems to express just what you were looking for, but in a much better way than you’re capable of composing. Then there’s other ones that make you laugh or smile or simply saw, “Aww.” So tonight I present you with an offering of words that are not my own. Some are by writers or artists or people who got famous for other reasons, and, truthfully, some of them are from people I’ve never heard of. All, however, are ones that I enjoy.

We write to taste life twice. ~Anais Nin

Those who dance are considered insane by those who can’t hear the music. ~George Carlin

In 3 words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life; it goes on. ~Robert Frost

I love sleep. The world has a tendency to fall apart when I’m awake, you know? ~Ernest Hemingway

A real loser is somebody who’s so afraid of not winning they don’t even try. ~Grandpa, Little Miss Sunshine

The beginning of wisdom is found in doubting; by doubting we come to the question, and by seeking we may come upon the truth. ~Pierre Abelard

Whatever you are be a good one. ~Abraham Lincoln

Never let anyone tell you that it can’t be done. Maybe what cannot be done by anyone else is the reason God created you to do it. ~Conover Swofford

Being defeated is often a temporary condition. Giving up is what makes it permanent. ~Marilyn vos Savant

Music is what feelings sound like. ~Anonymous

Unbeing dead isn’t being alive. ~e.e. Cummings

In the book of life, the answers aren’t in the back. ~Charlie Brown

Somewhere in you is the you whom you were made to be. We need you to be you. We don’t need a second anybody. We need the first you. ~Rob Bell, Velvet Elvis

Life must be understood backward, but it must be lived forward. ~Soren Kierkegaard

As I grow to understand life less and less, I learn to love it more and more. ~Jules Renard

Teach me to seek you, and reveal yourself to me as I seek, because I can neither seek you if you do not teach me how, nor find you unless you reveal yourself. Let me seek you in desiring you; let me desire you in seeking you; let me find you in loving you; let me love you in finding you. ~Anselm

And, to sum it all up…

I love quotations because it is a joy to find thoughts one might have, beautifully expressed with much authority by someone recognized wiser than oneself. ~Marlene Dietrich

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

Leave a Reply

