Not.

A recent lunch with someone I very much respect and admire left me contemplating these 2 thoughts:

You are not in control.

You are not alone.

Such simple statements, yet profound in that simplicity. Although the original context of the statements was not a Christian one, they have great application to the Christian life. Most, if not all, of my problems could be lessened if I could truly come to terms with the fact that

I.

AM NOT.

IN CONTROL.

I like to think that I am. It makes me feel much safer to think that I have some sort of power to determine what ultimately happens in any situation, but the truth of it is there is a plan much greater than my own. The second statement is very closely tied with the first. Even when things in my life are spinning and whirling and tilting in a way I would not have expected,

I.

AM NOT.

ALONE.

I can’t even begin to tell you how often I forget this. First, I think that I’m in control of things, and if I do happen to realize that I’m not, I forget that the one who is truly in control is also with me. God doesn’t allow things to happen to me then leave me to fend for myself…if he did that, he wouldn’t be much of a loving God at all. He might allow people to leave or for me to be hurt by them, but when it comes down to it HE will NEVER. LEAVE.

Chances are I’ve written about this in the past, and I will probably write it again in the future. These are the types of things that I seem to go through phases of…for a while I’ve got it internalized fairly well, living it and feeling it, that God is in control and that he’ll never leave, but then I begin to forget it, stop living like it’s true. Maybe it’s one of those parts about being human, of never being finished but continually in process. We get something for a while, and then, for a while, we just…don’t get it. Don’t feel it. Can’t seem to believe it.

Fortunately, I am not in control of this. And in and through everything, I am not alone.

And for that, I am very, very thankful.

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

Leave a Reply

