Imperfect Lovers

How does God do it?

Put up with all our crap, that is.

Or more specifically, how did Jesus do it when he was here on earth? Imperfect people that we are, we fail each other all the time. Jesus’ disciples failed him–just look at the story of when he went to pray in the Garden of Gethsemane. Here he was, in his hour of greatest need, and his disciples fell asleep on him not once, but THREE times. What kind of friends DO that? Really tired ones, I guess, but if it were me I would be livid. They didn’t know he was about to be arrested, but when someone says to you “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death,” you’d think maybe you’d try to be there for them. And not fall asleep when they ask you to pray. But they did. What pooheads.

That’s the thing though–they were human, Jesus was divine. They had been following him for a while, learned a lot about love and all the other great things Jesus taught about, but all they learned couldn’t overcome their human nature. I can’t help but wonder if it was almost exhausting to be around Jesus and his perfection all the time. Maybe I’m a particularly bad brand of person for being like this, but when I’m around seemingly perfect people for a while I just start to get annoyed.

But Jesus WAS perfection in all that he did.

One of the reasons I like Jesus so much is because of his emphasis on love. It’s kind of a big deal, you know. Even when it came to his crummy friends who couldn’t stay awake when he needed them the most, Jesus was PERFECT at loving.

His disciples were not. They were imperfect lovers.

And so are we. No matter how much practice we may have had at being a friend or wife or boyfriend or cousin, we are imperfect in that. It’s humbling to realize. It is so easy for me to look at others and notice how imperfect they are at loving when they hurt me, but I really ought to be looking at myself first.

I have much to learn when it comes to learning to love. Even friends who can be pooheads sometimes deserve to be loved.

And therefore I go, an imperfect lover, but always learning.

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

Leave a Reply

