Things I Didn’t Ask For

Life is rough all over, there’s no doubt about it. Donald Miller puts it so wonderfully in his book Blue Like Jazz. (I sort of slightly A LOT love this book. Every time I read it there are new things that strike me. He writes like I think, but in a much better way.)

“I think I was feeling bitter about human experience. I never asked to be human. Nobody came to the womb and explained the situation to me, asking for my permission to go into the world and live and breathe and eat and feel joy and pain. I started thinking about how odd it was to be human, how we are stuck inside this skin, forced to be attracted to the opposite sex, forced to eat food and use the rest room and then stuck to the earth by gravity.” ~p. 98, Blue Like Jazz

This resonates with me with every reading of this book. Life is such a curious thing. Unlike so many things, we were given no choice whether or not we wanted to become alive, to come to earth and live and breathe and eat and BE. So here we are, doing this thing that we cannot opt out of. There are so many things that we did not ask for yet were given to us anyway, and we must do the best we can with them.

Lately it feels as though I’ve simply been trudging through life. I am weary, exhausted, and so very ready for this school year to be done. Yes, I chose to go to college, but there are many things about the college life (and this year in particular) that I did not ask for and could not have seen coming. There is a piece of me that is perhaps slightly resentful of these things. They are part of the human experience, of LIFE, but I did not ask for them and have no way of returning them.

In this I must be reminded that there is purpose in everything. I did not ask to be human, to live the things I have lived, yet God saw fit to place me here, in this place, for a specific reason. I don’t know what his GRAND purpose for me is, but I have seen glimpses of smaller ones, and so I suppose it is in those things I must find reason for day to day living. It all comes down to choice. I may be stuck in this skin, but I don’t have to be stuck where I am.

Til next time…

~Brianna!~

Leave a Reply

